Too much angst…:-0

@Allison aaid,”I don’t think everyone agrees that Heifetz has a distinct sound and quality to his playing. You and I might think so, but most people in the US can’t tell Heifetz on the radio from any other violinist on the radio.”

You are making a really good point.

There are so many soloists who seem to play beautifully, but who could be almost interchangeable. Others do, to me, have a distinct voice and style, but they make me uncomfortable. Nadja S/S, for example, is a dynamic player, but she has too much angst for me to watch or listen to regularly. I find myself worrying about her, and forgetting about the music. It is, at times, simply a matter of personal taste in the time one has available.

Leave a Reply

